EDT (Eastern Daylight Time) Time

Many people don’t understand the concept of a time zone. They don’t know much about the different time zones in the world. Of course, everyone knows what time zone they are in. However, how much do you know about UTC offsets? And did you know that UTC is not a time zone? The reality is that time zones are extremely important to everyone. They greatly influence social and commercial activity. They even influence military communications and operations. So, let’s take a look at what the EDT time zone is and how it relates to the other time zones on Earth. Also, we will list the most important countries and the major cities that are in EDT. It is important to note that these countries and cities are not in the EDT time zone all year round. Some of them observe Daylight Saving Time, which means they enter another time zone during summer months. You’ll also find a list of fun facts about time zones towards the end of this article.

What Exactly Is a Time Zone?

So, you are probably wondering what a time zone really is. Let’s explain it in simple terms. You are probably aware that not all countries on earth observe noon at the same time. It would be impossible because the Earth is a sphere. Only half of it faces the Sun. And because it rotates, various countries observe noon at different hours throughout the day. To coordinate time and to help people and businesses, the Earth was split into 24 time zones. All countries and cities in a time zone observe the same time. There is no difference in time, even if the countries are thousands of miles apart. Different parts of the world enter and exit daylight at different times, so splitting the world into 24 time zones makes a lot of sense. It’s like grouping areas that are in daylight together. And all time zones are regulated after UTC.

What Is UTC and How It Differs From EDT?

UTC, an abbreviation for Coordinated Universal Time, is not a time zone. UTC is a time standard. In fact, UTC is the standard by which all time is coordinated and regulated. Yes, most people use UTC to refer to a time zone. However, at least at the time of writing, the time zone that uses UTC time is called GMT (Greenwich Mean Time). The difference of time between UTC and the time in a certain area is called the offset. For example, EDT (Eastern Daylight Time) is UTC-04:00. This means that Eastern Daylight Time has a negative offset of 4 hours. Then it is 8 PM in the EDT time zone, it is just 4 PM in the GMT time zone. And remember that there are also two variations of EDT: EDST (or the Eastern Daylight Savings Time) and NAEDT (or the North American Eastern Daylight Time). All time zones are coordinated by UTC, this is why there is such a thing as an UTC offset. The difference between two countries, one in UTC+4 and one in UTC-4, is of 8 hours. It’s actually pretty simple to calculate time if you know that UTC offsets of the various countries on Earth. And you can find this information everywhere online.

Major Countries in EDT Time Zone

Now that you know what a time zone is, what EDT is, and how it related to Coordinated Universal Time, it’s time to take a look at the major countries that are in the EDT time zone. The following states in North America are in the EDT time zone:

  • Connecticut
  • Delaware
  • District of Columbia
  • Florida – Southern/Eastern parts Show
  • Georgia
  • Almost all of Indiana
  • Kentucky
  • Maine
  • Maryland
  • Massachusetts
  • Michigan – most except these western counties Show
  • New Hampshire
  • New Jersey
  • New York
  • North Carolina
  • Ohio
  • Pennsylvania
  • Rhode Island
  • South Carolina
  • Tennessee – eastern counties Show
  • Vermont
  • Virginia
  • West Virginia

There are also three Canadian territories that are in the EDT time zone during the summer months: Nunavut, Ontario and Quebec. Also, there are two Caribbean territories that are in the EDT time zone in the summer months: Bahamas and Haiti. In South America, we have Colombia, Ecuador, Peru and some parts of Brazil. Other countries that are in the EDT time zone during parts of the year include Mexico, Panama, Jamaica, Haiti, and Cuba. As you can notice, there are a lot of relatively large territories in this time zone. Although there are no exact figures, the number of people living in the Eastern Daylight Time zone is in the hundreds of millions. And yes, all of these people are observing the exact same time, which is UTC-04:00. There is no difference in time between New York and Cuba.

Major Cities in the EDT Time Zone

Because Eastern Daylight Time covers such a large area, it is only normal to have a lot of major metropolitan areas in it. Here are some of the largest cities in the EDT time zone:

  • Washington, D.C.
  • Atlanta, Georgia
  • Baltimore, Maryland
  • Barrie, Ontario
  • Bogotá, Colombia
  • Boston, Massachusetts
  • Burlington, Vermont
  • Charleston, West Virginia
  • Charlotte, North Carolina
  • Cincinnati, Ohio
  • Cleveland, Ohio
  • Columbia, South Carolina
  • Columbus, Ohio
  • Detroit, Michigan
  • Grand Rapids, Michigan
  • Greater Sudbury, Ontario
  • Guayaquil, Ecuador
  • Hamilton, Ontario
  • Havana, Cuba
  • Indianapolis, Indiana
  • Iqaluit, Nunavut
  • Jacksonville, Florida
  • Kingston, Jamaica
  • Knoxville, Tennessee
  • La Paz, Bolivia
  • Lima, Peru
  • London, Ontario
  • Louisville, Kentucky
  • Manchester, New Hampshire
  • Medellín, Colombia
  • Miami, Florida
  • Montreal, Quebec
  • Nassau, Bahamas
  • New York, New York
  • Orlando, Florida
  • Oshawa, Ontario
  • Panama City, Panama
  • Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
  • Port-au-Prince, Haiti
  • Portland, Maine
  • Quebec, Quebec
  • Quito, Ecuador
  • Richmond, Virginia
  • Rochester, New York
  • Springfield, Massachusetts
  • Thunder Bay, Ontario
  • Toledo, Ohio
  • Toronto, Ontario
  • Trenton, New Jersey
  • Wilmington, Delaware
  • Windsor, Ontario
  • Worcester, Massachusetts

Fun Facts About Time Zones

Now that you know what the EDT time zone is, how it relates to Coordinated Universal Time (UTC) and what countries and cities it covers, let’s take a look at some of the most interesting and fun facts about time zones:

  • UTC time coordinates time in all time zones; this is why the UTC offset was created. However, UTC is being periodically adjusted itself using leap seconds, because the slowing rotation rate of the Earth is making UTC drift away from atomic clock time every year.
  • Emails coming from a sender who is in the EDT time zone will have the -0400 email time zone indicator in their headers. However, the sender may not be in EDT time because there are other time zones that use the UTC-04:00 offset during some parts of the year.
  • EDT is a daylight savings time, so it used only during summer months. The rest of the year, the time zone is Eastern Standard Time (EST), which is UTC-05:00.
  • GMT is the time zone that follows UTC time (it has no UTC offset). However, GMT is GMT+01:00 during summer months in most parts of the time zone. This happens because the United Kingdom observes Daylight Savings Time.
  • India has a single national time, which is UTC+05:30. And no, not all countries use whole hours for their UTC offset. Nepal even went as far as to use a time that is UTC+05:45.
  • Not all countries observe Daylight Savings Time. Examples include most of Africa, Argentina, Peru, and even parts of Australia.
  • Hawaii never changed its time from UTC-10:00 (it doesn’t observe DST). The fun fact is that Hawaii is in the same time zone as Alaska in the winter months.
  • The date of December 30, 2011 did not exist for Samoan residents. On that day, the country skipped a whole day when it moved time zones.

Sign Up To Our Newsletter